Transferring Meeting Ownership to Another User

by

July 25, 2017

Meeting room persistence or the ability for virtual meeting rooms to exist when the host isn’t present is an extremely powerful Adobe Connect feature.  Over time it’s not uncommon for organizations to rely heavily on this persistence, not only using Connect meetings for recurring meetings but often working these into even business processes, and even loading them up with extremely useful content.  What happens when the owner of a meeting wants to move on, but the organization needs that meeting and those associated assets as-is?  Well, it’s possible to “transfer” it.

There are a couple of methods to “transfer” a meeting from one user to another, but each requires a few steps.  The method chosen is typically based on the complexity (the number of existing assets associated with the meeting and number of external references using that meetings URL).  

  1. Limited Distribution of Meeting URL – If a meeting has a small number of assets and the meeting URL is not widely distributed, the simplest step is to create a new meeting room, and having the original host move the assets to the Shared Assets folder that can then be uploaded to the new meeting room in a matter of minutes.
  2. Widely Distributed Meeting URL with Host Leaving Organization – Oftentimes though it’s important to retain the existing meeting URL. This is particularly important for client facing meetings and when the URL has numerous links pointing to it.  In these one way to do it is to actually “give” the account to the new meeting owner.   This can be done by changing the name and email address, to those of the new owner.  This only works if the old owner is leaving the organization and the new owner is new to it (and in this case they inherit all of the old meetings and assets, not just the one in question).   If the new employee is taking over the role of the departing employee then this can be more widely beneficial.   
  3. Widely Distributed Meeting URL with Host Remaining in Organization –  If the original host is remaining in the organization, but needs to transfer the recurring meeting the URL can still be transferred.  First, have the meeting owner move the meeting to the Shared Meetings folder.   Then have the meeting owner add the new user as a Host to the meeting.  Now the meeting and existing assets can be accessed & used by the new user.  The new user can then delete the original meeting owner if needed.  Voila; transfer effected.

 

Latest Blog

Here Comes Adaptive Learning!

Corporate training has seen some incredible advances over the years. There was of course the big leap in new, innovative teaching methods and techniques driven by the widespread computerization that started in the 1960s with PLATO, the first computer-assisted instruction system that originally called the University of Illinois home before supporting thousands of terminals worldwide. […]
Privacy | Terms of Service | © CoSo Cloud LLC